Irish Murphy’s was built in 1855, the post gold-rush hotel building boom era and was originally named The Argyle Hotel.
In 1859, the Geelong Football Club was formed in the Argyle Tavern at the Club first board meeting. The Argyle ground (Located behind the Pub and between Aberdeen and Pakington streets) was to be the Club’s home ground for some years before it came to an abrupt end in 1878 when the ground’s owner, Silas Harding received a bill for unpaid rates, which the club had forgotten to pay. Harding was so angry, he ploughed up the field and cut down the goal posts. As a result the club moved to East Geelong in the Eastern Park to a picturesque site known as Corio Oval, a matter of a few kicks of the football from Corio Bay.
The Hotel was an important meeting place in the nineteenth century for people to discuss such things as, the separation of Newtown and Chilwell and Thomson ward from Geelong, and meetings of the Geelong Football Club.
The building was designed by the important Geelong based architect John Young and is one of the two known examples by him which brickwork has been used in this innovative way to stylize Italian High Renaissance elements. Noted for his earlier designs for the ‘Golden Age’ and ‘Bay View’ hotels in Geelong, John designed the Argyle Hotel in a similar classically derived style which was dominated by modeling brick parapets, architraves and mouldings in distinctive patters. In August 1857 a meeting held in the Argyle Hotel led to the formation of the Borough of Newtown and Chilwell. The Argyle hotel is one of the first establishments of the 1850’s in Geelong.
Lunch 12pm – 2:30pm
Dinner 5:30pm – 9:00pm
Tue: 11:30am – 11:00pm
Wed: 11:30am – 11:00pm
Thurs: 11:30am – 12:00am
Fri: 11:30am – 1:00am
Sat: 11:30am – 1:00am
Sun: 11:30am – 11:00pm